Infrastructure NSW has revealed the five finalists in a competition to design a waterfront pavilion in Sydney’s Barangaroo.

The pavilion will be a shade-and-canopy structure intended to provide an area for public gathering, relaxation and a range of events. It will be located at Watermans Cove, an extension of Wulugul Walk, which, when complete in 2024, will follow the Sydney harbour foreshore from Walsh Bay to Darling Harbour.

Watermans Cove will be situated adjacent to the under-construction Crown casino hotel designed by Wilkinson Eyre. The site is located on the land of the Gadigal people of the Eora nation.

Infrastructure NSW is running a two-stage competition with the first stage being an anonymous ideas competition.

The five entries selected by the jury are:

  • Entry #106 by Jessica Spresser (Spresser), Brisbane
  • Entry #238 by John Bohane and Luke Pigliacampo, Sydney
  • Entry #243 by Mitchell Thompson (Retallack Thompson), Sydney
  • Entry #257 by Amy Muir (Muir Architecture, Openwork and Sarah Lynn Rees), Melbourne
  • Entry #264 by Neil Durbach (Durbach Block Jaggers), Sydney

The finalists will now develop their ideas for the second stage of the competition.

The finalists were selected by a jury that comprised Robert Nation (Barangaroo Design Advisor), Bridget Smyth (city architect / design director, City of Sydney), Abbie Galvin (New South Wales Government Architect), Peter Poulet (professor of practice (Architecture), Western Sydney University), and Kim Crestani (city architect, City of Parramatta).

The winner of the competition will be revealed later in 2020.

Related topics

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *